Uncategorized

The BEST Winter Coats for Your Kids

Now that we are living in what seems to be The North Pole – I have come to appreciate the winter coats that I bought the kids even more.  I am a little bit of a coat collector, so I thought I would share my kids coats collections with you.

#1.  LANDS END Expedition Waterproof Parka 

The BEST coat for extreme cold, snow, waterproofing, wind and rain.  My kids wear this coat in all kinds of weather, and the 600 fill down keeps them warm in these subzero temps.  They are waterproof and it definitely keeps them dry as well.  The hand warmer cuff is amazing for keeping snow out of that space between the glove and the sleeve.  When they aren’t wearing gloves, the cuff is a great added warmer.  My girls love the soft inside lining that goes against their neck.  In addition, these are machine wash/dry.  This coat normally runs $149 but LE always has sales.  Wait for the sale.  I usually manage to get mine at 40% off, and they have always lasted 2 full winters, with great resale on eBay.  They have them for boys and girls.

Lands End Girls Expedition Waterproof Parka

Lands End Girls Expedition Waterproof Parka

Lands End Girls Expedition Waterproof Parka - Soft inside lining.

Lands End Girls Expedition Waterproof Parka – Soft inside lining.

#2.  Mini Boden Boys Coat

I bought my boys’ coats from Mini Boden last year – and now I don’t see any winter coats on their site, and now I can’t remember what I paid for them.  It could be that they are past season or maybe they aren’t selling them this year.  I’ll have to look again next winter because these coats came in a solid 2nd place.  For style, I would put this coat in #1, but it doesn’t have the extra features the LE coats have for winter weather.  No warming cuff, not waterproof (but does a good job keeping dry), and it’s not down.  My boys get colder wearing these coats than my girls do in their LE coats.  As a bonus, these coats are machine washable.  This is a great every day winter coat, but I wouldn’t use this for constant subzero temps.

Boys Mini Boden Boys Coat

Boys Mini Boden Boys Coat (and Mini Boden snow pants, LE Gloves)

photo-9

Boys Mini Boden Coat.

#3.  The North Face Denali

These coats are the best warm alternative to a sweatshirt.  My boys and girls love them for how warm, light weight and comfortable they are.  These are great for playing outside, outdoor sports, etc.  I would say these are great for temps ranging from about 35 – 55 degrees.  As I mom, I love these because they are machine washable.  They run around $100 but you can find last season’s colors at a large discount like this one at 6pm, and on eBay.

The North Face Kids Denali

The North Face Kids Denali

#4.  The North Face Aconcagua

This is a great winter coat for temperatures around freezing, maybe 25-45 but not much colder.  This is a 550 fill down jacket with tighter cuffs to prevent cold from getting in.  It does not have a fuzzy lining.  It’s light weight and machine washable.  Both my girls like this as an every day winter coat, but not as their outside snow coat, or in rain, since their is no hood.

The North Face girls Aconcagua Jacket

The North Face girls Aconcagua Jacket

The North Face Girls Aconcagua Jacket

The North Face Girls Aconcagua Jacket

#5 Patagonia Kids Coats

I personally love Patagonia for myself, since the performance is amazing.  I only have one Patagonia jacket for my kids right now, but it’s a super-performer.  I have had it for 2 years now and I can’t find another one similar.  It is reversible and water/wind proof, and machine washable.  It is really great for cold wet temps ranging from about 40-55 for my toddler, but he has worn it in colder weather as well.  I think almost any coat you get from Patagonia will be a hit.

Front:  Patagonia reversible jacket, back: The North Face Denali, Right:  The North Face Aconcagua

Front: Patagonia reversible jacket, back: The North Face Denali, Right: The North Face Aconcagua

7 thoughts on “The BEST Winter Coats for Your Kids

  1. Apt post for the weather, eh 🙂

    I recently got my daughter a Zara coat. It was pretty cheap, but I was surprised by the quality and how warm it was. She was very toasty.

  2. I am extremely inspired with your writing skills and also with the format on your weblog.
    Is that this a paid subject matter or did you customize
    it yourself? Either way keep up the nice high quality writing,
    it’s rare to see a great weblog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

